image of faculty member receiving their award from Faye Richardson
Ella Ehlert

This year, the College of Liberal Arts (CLA) was excited to celebrate our Teaching Award recipients in person for the first time since 2019. Last month, CLA faculty and graduate student awardees gathered in Shusterman Hall where their awards were conferred and celebrated.

"The CLA excellence in teaching awards are presented annually to outstanding instructors who positively impact students through innovative courses and supportive practices, inside and outside of the classroom", said Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Hiram Aldarondo.

"This year's winners have demonstrated great flexibility and adaptability, and an ability to connect with their students that's been so critical to effective learning during the pandemic."

  • Elizabeth Sunflower, Intellectual Heritage, Fulltime Teaching/Instructional Faculty Award
  • Eugene Chislenko, Philosophy, Presidential Faculty Award
  • Elias Blinkoff, Psychology and Neuroscience, Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award
  • Laura Biesiadecki, English, Graduate Student Instructor of Record Award
  • Kareem Johnson, Psychology and Neuroscience, Eleanor Hofkin "at large" Award

The college was also proud to celebrate three CLA faculty members who received university-wide awards.

  • Ingrid Olson, Psychology and Neuroscience, 2020-2021 Faculty Research Award
  • Charles Weitz, Anthropology, 2021-2022 Faculty Senate Outstanding Faculty Service Award (FSOFSA)
  • Heath Fogg Davis, Intellectual Heritage, 2021-2022 Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching

Congratulations, awardees! The College of Liberal Arts thanks you and the entire faculty for your continued unwavering commitment to our students.