image of two women faculty one man and a graduate student holding his award
From L to R: Associate Professor E. Rely Vîlcică, PhD Student Yu-Heng (Steven) Chen, Professor Caterina Roman and Professor Steven Belenko
Rosemary Fahmie

The College of Liberal Arts held its 2024 Celebration of Faculty Awards on March 27th at the Howard Gittis Student Center. Deputy Dean Sandra L. Suárez served as the Master of Ceremony for this year's event.

The Edward Buthusiem Faculty Research Award, established last year, is awarded to faculty whose applied research adds to our knowledge of how large-scale societal decisions are made and/or whose research adds significantly to the University's public reputation for scholarly excellence. This year, Dean Richard Deeg presented the award to Hamil Pearsall, Associate Professor of Geography and Urban Studies.

Caterina Roman, professor of Criminal Justice, was recognized for work to make meaningful change in Philadelphia communities impacted by historical disinvestment with the Community Engagement Award. Political Science professor Orfeo Fioretos was acknowledged as a recipient of Lindback Teaching Award, a university-wide faculty award.

Read on to see all of the CLA teaching award winners and faculty promotions. You can also check out our photo gallery from this year's ceremony.

  • Presidential Faculty Award: Michael McCloskey, Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience Department
  • Full Time Teaching/Instructional Faculty Award: Carmelo Galati, Associate Professor, French, German, Italian & Slavic Department
  • Eleanor Hofkin Award: Thomas McAllister, Professor, First Year Writing Program
  • Graduate Student Award (IR): Samantha Sproviero, History Department
  • Graduate Student Award (SR): Yu-Heng Chen, Criminal Justice Department


Promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure

Promoted to Professor

On April 10th, the university-wide Faculty Award Ceremony will take place at the Temple Performing Arts Center. CLA congratulates the following winners:

Faculty Senate Outstanding Faculty Service Awards

  • Quaiser D. Abdullah
  • Susan B. Dickey
  • Lisa A. Ferretti 

Stauffer Award for Distinguished Faculty Service

  • Susan M. Chialastri

Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching and Instruction Awards

  • Christy Davids
  • Zach Oppenheimer
  • Tricia Richards-Service

Provost's Award for Teaching Excellence in General Education

Lindback Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Orfeo Fioretos
  • Jamie Mansell
  • Andrew Spence
  • Terell L. Stafford
  • Anjali Vaidya
  • Laura Zaylea

Paul W. Eberman Faculty Research Award

  • Sherril Dodds

Temple University Faculty Research Award

  • Irina Mitrea

Faculty Award for Creative Achievement

  • Scott Laserow

Great Teacher Awards

  • Charles Abramovic
  • Robert L. Bettiker
  • Heather R. Porter