Dr. Dennis S. Lebofsky and Joan Shapiro Lebofsky Award

Established in 2012 by Dr. Dennis Lebofsky (CLA '61) and Joan Shapiro Lebofsky (EDU, '64), this award is presented annually to students whose writing has shown significant improvement and who have excelled during the spring semester in the First-Year-Writing course required of all students. A committee appointed by the director of First-Year Writing selects recipients. One awardee must be a student whose first language is not English; a second, a graduate of a Philadelphia neighborhood high school. Graduates of Central, Masterman, the High School for Girls, magnet schools, and charter schools are not eligible for this award.