Staff

Office of the Dean

The office of the dean is responsible for providing leadership and oversight for all undergraduate and graduate educational, curricular, and student affairs matters and is responsible for ensuring the quality of all students’ academic experience. The various units housed in the dean's office interact with the college’s department chairs, program directors, staff, students, and other entities across the university to advance undergraduate and graduate education and to ensure that departmental, collegial and university academic policies and procedures are followed.

Richard Deeg
Dean
1228 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7747
rdeeg@temple.edu

Rebecca T. Alpert
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Religion

1219 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7712
rebecca.alpert@temple.edu

Sandra Suarez
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Professor of Political Science
suarez@temple.edu

Annette McMenamin Bakley
Senior Vice Dean for Undergraduate Affairs
1249 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-3625
amb@temple.edu

Kevin M. Glass
Senior Vice Dean, Finance
1231 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7743
kevin.glass@temple.edu

Shawn Schurr
Vice Dean, Graduate Affairs
1216 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-3361
sgomer@temple.edu

Joseph J. Master
Assistant Dean, Marketing and Communications
1239 Anderson Hall
(215) 316-1737
jmaster@temple.edu

Christopher Marc Wolfgang
Senior Director, Academic Advising Center
Paley Library
1210 Polett Walk, Suite 160
(215) 204-8662
cwolfgan@temple.edu

Anne Eckert
Executive Assistant to the Dean​
1238 Anderson Hall
215-204-7747
ake@temple.edu​

Amanda (Mandy) Gibson
Assistant Director, Undergraduate Affairs
CLA Grievance Officer

1215 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-8504
gibson@temple.edu

Amy Defibaugh
Assistant Director, Academic Affairs
1217 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-5936
amy.defibaugh@temple.edu​

Cori Haas
Coordinator, Graduate Affairs
1218 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-6916
tud17370@temple.edu

Mary L. Longs
Office Manager
1225 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-1247
mmiddl01@temple.edu

Contact Mary to talk about college and university business for the dean, scheduling meetings (including reserving space in 1221 and 1235 Anderson Hall), correspondence and adjunct appointments.

Research

The Office of Research in the College of Liberal Arts exists to promote and support high quality research and scholarship by faculty members and students. The Office serves to nurture a climate conducive to research by disseminating internal and external funding opportunities, assisting in proposal construction and submission, post-award administration, and training faculty and students in the implementation and administration of their grants. We highly encourage creative, entrepreneurial, and interdisciplinary efforts by faculty and students in the College of Liberal Arts.

Kimberly Fahey
Director of Research Administration
(215) 204-3367
kimberly.fahey@temple.edu

Gina Barnes
Assistant Director of Pre-Award Services
1248 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9148
gina.barnes@temple.edu

Faculty Affairs

The Office of Faculty Affairs assists departmental chairpersons, faculty, and staff with strategic academic planning, faculty recruitment and hiring, tenure and promotion processes, merit processes, sabbaticals, faculty awards, and other aspects of faculty development.

Our office is here to help you with all of these processes. We also run the annual faculty orientation programs within the College of Liberal Arts designed to welcome new faculty to the college.

Faye Richardson
Director of Faculty Affairs
1244 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-6242
faye.richardson@temple.edu

Finance and Operations

The Office of Finance and Operations is responsible for the development and implementation of University fiscal policies, accounting procedures, internal control mechanisms and financial systems. We prepare all official external financial reports, and process all accounts payable transactions. We provide leadership and expertise as a university resource on financial information, business practices, and related regulatory issues.

The Office of Finance and Operations also oversees administration for the Office of Research.

Kevin M. Glass
Senior Vice Dean, Finance
1231 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7743
kevin.glass@temple.edu

Stephanie Tschanz
Assistant Director, Finance
1247 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-3744
steph712@temple.edu

Sharon Smith
Manager, Finance & Accounting
(215) 204-7577
sharon.smith@temple.edu

Department Administrators

Africology and African American Studies, History, Geography and Urban Studies

Anne Eckert
Manager, Administration
anne.eckert@temple.edu

Criminal Justice, Anthropology, Political Science, Global Studies and Sociology

Jessica Brennan
Manager, Administration
(215) 204-7577
tua11422@temple.edu

Economics, Religion and Philosophy

Belinda Wilson
Manager, Administration
(215) 204-0472
bwilson@temple.edu

English & First Year Writing Program, Liberal Arts and Women's Studies

Stephanie Morawski
Manager, Administration
(215) 204-8516
morawski@temple.edu

Intellectual Heritage

Emily Carlin
Manager, Administration
(215) 204-3177
ecarlin@temple.edu

Languages

Asian and Middle Eastern Languages and Studies; Asian Studies; Confucius Institute; French, German, Italian, and Slavic; Greek and Roman Classics; Latin American Studies; Spanish and Portuguese

Michelle Pugliese
Manager, Administration
(215) 204-5628
pugliese@temple.edu

Psychology and Neuroscience

Laura Dean
Manager, Administration
(215) 204-2644
ldean@temple.edu

Development

The development office helps reconnect alumni with the college while helping to raise funds essential to continuing our mission of educating the next generation of leaders. Our office is here to help guide you through the giving process, whether you would like to send a check to support the annual fund or you are considering including Temple in your estate planning.

Development staff members enjoy planning and hosting the events that bring you back to campus and reconnect you with your classmates. Our office handles invitations and RSVPs for a variety of events on campus and throughout the city.

Yolanda S. Lee-Mobley
Development Associate
(215) 204-9153
yolanda.mobley@temple.edu

External and Government Affairs

External and Government Affairs works to foster healthy relationships with elected officials in Philadelphia, Harrisburg, and Washington D.C. The office serves as the primary liaison between the university community and governments on all levels, connecting governments to the many services offered by the College of Liberal Arts and representing the university’s interests.

Joseph McLaughlin
Assistant Dean, External and Government Affairs
Director, Institute for Public Affairs
840 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-5059
joseph.mclaughlin@temple.edu

Michelle Atherton
Associate Director, Institute for Public Affairs
840 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9074
michelle.atherton@temple.edu

Office of Marketing and Communications

The Office of Marketing and Communications is a full-service content, design, public relations and marketing agency that provides a suite of services to help stakeholders throughout the college reach their audiences and increase visibility.

Our experienced writers, designers and Web developers oversee all college news, promotion, marketing and email campaigns, as well as Web and print communications for students, faculty, staff and parents. We also serve as consultants to college leadership to help deliver publications on time and on-message.

Want to work with our team? Review our Working With Us guidelines to learn how we operate. We look forward to helping with your next project.

Joseph J. Master
Assistant Dean, Marketing and Communications
1239 Anderson Hall
(215) 316-1737
jmaster@temple.edu

Camille Elliott
Coordinator, Marketing and Communications
837 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-6210
tuf77787@temple.edu

Zach Epstein
Director, Marketing and Communications
835 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-6243
zepstein@temple.edu

Christopher Hill
Director of Marketing Technology, Marketing and Communications
832 Anderson Hall
(215) 360-1895
c.hill@temple.edu

Zac McGroarty
Creative Director, Marketing and Communications
832 Anderson Hall
zachary.mcgroarty@temple.edu

Erin M. McHugh
Director of Enrollment Management
1214 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-2072
erin.mchugh@temple.edu

Information Technology

The Office of Information Technology provides a comprehensive array of technology and technology support for students, faculty and staff of the College of Liberal Arts.

Marc Getty
Director, Information Technology
Building Manager, Anderson & Gladfelter Halls
215-962-5603
marc.getty@temple.edu

James Esposito
Technical Support Specialist
Office: Anderson Hall 21
james.esposito@temple.edu

Rodney T. Holloway
Evening Manager
215-204-3213
R.T.Holloway@temple.edu

Cyril Ireland
Manager, Classroom Support
215-435-1313
cireland@temple.edu

Lido Paglia
Associate Director, Infrastructure & Support
215-204-8265
lido@temple.edu

Ben Peters
Senior Technical Support Specialist 
215-204-1944
ben.peters@temple.edu

Crystal Schulz
Manager, Computer Labs
215-204-3213
crystal.schulz@temple.edu

Jonathan Todd
Manager, Technical Support
Office: Anderson Hall 21
215-435-3087
jonathan.todd@temple.edu

Affiliated staff:

Steven Leopold
Senior Technical Support Specialist
215-204-3944
steven.leopold@temple.edu

William Eagan
Senior Technical Support Specialist
215-204-3944
william.eagan@temple.edu